Mentioning Disability is not an Invitation for Commentary or an Inquisition

In den hinteren Absätzen stehen Tipps im Umgang mit Behinderung in einem Gespräch.

crippledscholar

I think one of the clearest examples that I experience regularly that disability is not an accepted experience is that I can’t casually reference the experience of being disabled without being met with either pity or inappropriate questions. Sometimes it is both.

For me disability is a huge part of how I experience the world. It impacts how I do every day things. If it is relevant I should be able to reference it in the same way a nondisabled person talks about their day.

When I reference my disability or how it impacted an activity (like referencing how I had to do something differently than the norm). I am not looking for pity. But I all too often get it.

Or in a situation where I am airing a grievance based on discrimination, where empathy (though I usually get pity) is appropriate, it is misplaced. People are sorry that…

Ursprünglichen Post anzeigen 1.069 weitere Wörter

Kommentar verfassen

